Malin

Becoming an adult has been a long process. I’ve been through a lot, good and bad and looking back on old journals, I’m a different person to who I was 5 years ago. I’m barely recognisable now. Inside and out.

A few people stand out when I think of who got me to where I am today and one of them is my friend Malin. When I got kicked out of my first flat, Malin very kindly took me in despite being a friend of a friend and not knowing me very well at-all.

Malin introduced me to some of the most interesting people I have ever met (a Buddhist who sleeps outdoors in sub-zero temperatures when there’s a perfectly good bed inside, anyone?), music I’d never heard of such as Bauhaus, cult movies and what is still my favourite place in Glasgow… Tchai Ovna.

More than that though, Malin taught me the importance of life itself. He taught me that material things were of little importance; when it comes to the bigger picture, they account for very little. We had no money, at one point there were four of us sharing a two bedroom council flat and we were incredibly poor. We walked most places, ate the cheapest food and wore scruffy clothes. I’m not romanticising it, a lot of it was very hard but some of my best memories and lessons came from living there.

The value of money is something that is vital in adulthood and I am glad I was taught these lessons so early on.

Day two of the Scintilla project..

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

