What I’ve Been Up To- Month 1

This is the first of what will be a monthly feature, it’s just a catch up of what I’ve done every month. This month’s is slightly picture heavy but rather short as it’s only based on the past fortnight but I hope you enjoy it regardless!

I went to visit my friends Debbie, Greig and Alex to bake cupcakes. I mostly wanted to use my gorgeous leopard print toppers from All Edible. They were gorgeous, delicious and under £2 for a pack of 24. Anyway, despite the terrible buttercream (I didn’t let it cool for long enough), my cakes turned out really well. I stuck to a basic recipe and used pink food colouring so when we bit into them, they were obviously, you guessed it, pink.

Recipe:
100g butter
100g caster sugar
200g sifted self-raising flour
2 eggs
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
teaspoon of vanilla essence 

As Alex, Milla (the dog!) and I sat on the bed and watched, Greig and Debbie did some pole dancing. There was a lot of giggling, a lot of tripping and some pretty impressive moves from Debbie!

After almost three years and a lot of frustration, I’ve finally allowed Gavin to cure me of my kitchen phobia. I’m fine with baking cupcakes, banana bread and biscuits. Everything else has always seemed pretty scary to me. Not to mention the fact that Gavin is a chef and I feel like I’ll never be able to make food as good as his.

Anyway, we started off small and made some leek and potato soup. Aside from my eyes BURNING because of the onions (SERIOUSLY HOW DO PEOPLE COPE WITH THOSE LITTLE NIGHTMARES?!), I did rather well. It ended up tasting absolutely gorgeous and I felt a lovely sense of accomplishment once it was all over!

Recipe:

2 tablespoons of butter
1 garlic clove
2 large potatoes (chopped)
2 leeks (chopped)
1 Onion (chopped)
2 stock cubes in hot water
Salt and pepper!

Finally, the event of the month… Gavin’s sister’s wedding! It was held in a gorgeous place in Bathgate called The Vu. The sun was shining, the sky was blue and it was a perfect day for a wedding.

I’m not good at any kind of social event. If I have to keep quiet, I get the giggles, if I have to speak to people I tend to stutter and say things that REALLY don’t make much sense but fortunately, I didn’t need to worry either way. The reverend was crazy. I mean… crazy. He made jokes every two minutes, if he saw people refraining from singing, he walked right over to them and made them sing, he had a contagious laugh and not only did everyone feel at ease, he wasn’t somebody we’d be forgetting any day soon.

The bride herself, Emma, looked stunning. I cried when I first saw her that morning then as she walked down the aisle I cried again. The wedding was absolutely lovely and one of a kind.

Gavin was best man and gave an amazing speech which included a joke about doing the groom ‘up the arse’ much to the dismay of his grandparents and many parents in the room but he took it all in his stride! I had people coming up to me all night telling me how funny my boyfriend is. Can I just say… please don’t encourage him. He mocks me mercilessly on a daily basis, if he’s being told his wit is actually good, it’ll only get worse for me!

Anyway, it was a stunning day, I had a lot of fun and happy for Emma and Andy that their big day turned out to be such a beautiful one.

Oh and one final thing… Of COURSE I have been taking photo after photo of my babies cats. Collie (the black and white one) has been in the kitchen every time I have. He has a certain thing for water coming out of the taps and Jess has been enjoying lying beside/on me a lot of the time.

Both of them are incredibly well behaved, sweet cats. They’re still kittens but the only time they cause me any hassle whatsoever is when they chase each other around the flat at 5am. Other than that, they are just the sweetest.

That’s all, folks!

p.s. Did you like this post? Would you like me to do more? This one is a little shaky because it’s my first but once I get in the swing of it, I think it’d be a sweet feature!

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

