You Can’t Start A Fire Without A Spark

I was once told by an absolutely abhorrent man that I’d one day lose the love for music and I can honestly say, I still haven’t lost it, I haven’t grown out of it. It just doesn’t happen like that. Once music is a part of who you are, who you want to be, it sticks. Your tastes may change, your attitude may change but the love for music? The feeling you get when you hear a truly fantastic song that you find yourself playing on repeat constantly for weeks on end? The almost painful thumping of your heart before a band hit the stage? That never leaves.

The first time I heard Janis Joplin was because I was going through a lot of emotional turmoil and my closest friend sent me her song Little Girl Blue. I felt like Joplin had not only looked into my life and written about it, I felt like somebody finally understood where I was coming from, understood my pain and anguish and all of this in a short song. The emotion and passion that comes from that song completely overwhelmed me and all at once made me want to break down in tears and jump for joy because I knew that song would make all the difference for my whole life. So far, it really has.

Do you remember the first time you heard Led Zeppelin? The first time I heard them I was so thrilled at everything being utterly beautiful. They are one of the most beautiful bands in music history, there’s never a dull moment with them, not a poor song, just sheer, complete beauty. Every Zeppelin fan I have spoken to has said the same, there’s nothing quite like them and the first time you hear them is (not to sound too corny) a pretty magical moment.

Despite popular belief, these things aren’t once-in-a-lifetime. Finding that song or that band or even just that beautiful riff that you fall in love with and listen to on repeat for months on end isn’t a rarity. At least, it doesn’t have to be.

I am so tired of being told that good music is a thing of the past. If you truly think that, you’re not looking hard enough and you know as well as I do, good music is worth the effort of finding it. On any given night in Glasgow at least, there’s always at least one unsigned night and if it’s not free, it’s not expensive. Some of the most incredible musicians I’ve seen have been ones I’ve stumbled across at local gigs when I was only there to see my friend’s band.

Charts are constantly changing, trends are constantly changing. Some of my favourite music was huge in the 80’s but barely gets noticed now and that’s because the charts are now focusing on the likes of Nicki Minaj. Like I said, trends. Just because the kind of music you tend to like isn’t getting attention from the media doesn’t mean it doesn’t exist, that it isn’t out there. The media makes us think that everyone likes the same things, loses interest in things at the same time and while that’s true for a lot of people, standing out from the crowd is never a bad thing. Music is everywhere, good music is everywhere, you just need to look properly. The charts and whoever is playing T in the Park doesn’t cover all good music, getting big is unlikely for some of the best artists in the world, getting support isn’t impossible.

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

