I’m Being Taken Over By A Fear

I feel like I’m looking down into the abyss. I wouldn’t call this Writer’s Block, this is more like Writer’s Doubt. I looked for some new blogs to follow, preferably from Glasgow/Scotland and found myself reading some of the best writing I’ve read in years. It was so nice and interesting to read and now I’ve gone back to my own blog and my writing seems, at best, infantile. I have already admitted I have been quite lazy with my writing but I’m starting to feel like I’m not a writer at-all, especially next to these people.

So I thought, no, I’ll prove myself wrong, I’ll write something worthwhile that proves to myself that I am a writer and a good one at that but my mind is drawing a blank. All I can think right now is of how much I really hate my own writing at this very moment in time. I was tempted to delete all of my previous posts and start again, something more mature and interesting but I decided against it and hoped that this would be a temporary case of serious doubt.

I have no drive to write at the moment and I have just finished writing what I want to be writing about in the future and it all sounds so lame now. It’s been a long time since I doubted my abilities but right now, it’s all I can do.

8 comments

  1. I struggle with this kind of doubt every day, even though I think writing is the only thing in the world I’m decent at. Which is an absolute pain when you’re in the midst of a novel.

    But you should keep at it! Having just checked out your blog (thanks for the follow, btw!) I’d say you should DEFINITELY keep at it. 🙂

    1. Aw wow well thank you very much! That means a lot :). If it’s any consolation, your writing is what made me doubt my own ability! xx

      1. Really? That’s…that’s bananas! No one has ever said that to me before. You’ve nothing to worry about though, and nothing to doubt. Trust me. 😉 x

  2. I think it’s best not to think about it at all, don’t plan posts or anything like that, just write when inspiration hits and your writing will always be great because it is inspired.
    When you can’t think about what to write about, do something else and a writing topic will pop up in no time x

    1. Yeah it actually did! I have posts planned unfortunately as it’s a necessity but once I got away from stressing, I got massive inspiration.

      I’m fine writing factual posts like reviews any time but everything else I’ll try to be more laid back with, thanks xo

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

