I Believe In A Thing Called Love

Once this year is over, I’ll have been to three weddings. I’ve already been to two of them so obviously weddings and marriage are floating around a lot in my mind and my conversations with friends, family and unsurprisingly Gavin. Gavin and I aren’t really big on marriage; we are both very cynical about the institution and we’re both happy with each other as we are, we don’t feel the need to change that any time soon and both have a lot of things we’d like to do before considering marriage.

We’re lucky, though. We are a straight couple meaning we can choose whether or not to get married. We wouldn’t face controversy if we did decide to, we wouldn’t know that there are people who, if they could, would protest against it. We wouldn’t be accused of destroying the institution of marriage and this is all because we happen to be male and female.

Today I got sent an e-mail asking me to sign a petition asking the Scottish government to legalise same-sex marriage and the first thing I thought was ‘I can’t BELIEVE this is still an issue!’ and I really can’t. It seems like such a basic thing, two people are in love and want to get married so let them. How simple is that? Why is this something that still requires petitions and explanations? Why do other people care so much about strangers getting married?

My feelings on marriage are one thing, I’m not sure I believe it’s really worth it but what I do believe in is love. No matter what gender, religion, background, love happens to most of us at some point or another and I think it’s extremely callous to suggest that two people don’t have the right to celebrate and take the next step in their love because it offends you. 

I’ll tell you some things that offend me:

  • Jeggings. I hate them. They’re ugly, they’re weird and just looking at them on hangers makes me feel uncomfortable
  • Dubstep. I’ve tried, I really have, I want to be as open-minded as possible when it comes to music but Dubstep just irritates me
  • People who hate cats. One question: how?!
  • White Chicks. That terrible film. It’s offensive to me in so many ways. It’s just so awful.
  • Bad manners.

Now, as much as they offend me, it’s everyone’s right to wear jeggings while listening to dubstep, giving cats the evil eye, bumping into people on the way home without apologising so that they can sit down and watch White Chicks. Because, that’s life. It doesn’t revolve around any of us and if you don’t like the idea of same sex marriage, here’s an idea: don’t get married to somebody who is the same sex as you. Otherwise, get a life and focus on what you DO like instead of making people feel oppressed for simply being in love.

If you would like to sign this petition go here. You might be like me and not want to get married but please give gay people who are in love the option.

If you DON’T think everyone should have the right to get married regardless of sexuality, please don’t come back to my blog!

3 comments

  1. I am a Christian and I do agree that everyone has the right to love and marry the person he/she loves. To deny such right is unchristian and unbiblical. The laws the anti-gay “Christians” refer to are not God’s laws – they are just subjective preferences of a biblical literalist.

    Anyone who claims that gay relationships are wrong should be challenged to give away all their possessions, because that’s another law of the Bible:
    “Whatever happened to the Eleventh Commandment?”
    https://sites.google.com/site/robingivesahoot/what-happened-with-the-eleventh-commandment

    See more details on my website: “Robin Gives a Hoot”:
    https://sites.google.com/site/robingivesahoot/

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

