It’s the Final Countdown

Do-do-do-do…

This year has absolutely flown by. I can’t believe it’s nearly November already. Not that I’m bothered, November means colder days, longer nights, my birthday and, this year, NaNoWriMo.

National Novel Writing Month is a fun, seat-of-your-pants approach to novel writing. Participants begin writing on November 1. The goal is to write a 50,000-word (approximately 175-page) novel by 11:59:59 PM on November 30.

Valuing enthusiasm and perseverance over painstaking craft, NaNoWriMo is a novel-writing program for everyone who has thought fleetingly about writing a novel but has been scared away by the time and effort involved.

As you spend November writing, you can draw comfort from the fact that, all around the world, other National Novel Writing Month participants are going through the same joys and sorrows of producing the Great Frantic Novel. Wrimos meet throughout the month to offer encouragement, commiseration, and—when the thing is done—the kind of raucous celebrations that tend to frighten animals and small children.- Website blurb.

This year, I’ll be taking part. I won’t be neglecting this blog or the magazine I write for so I’ll be pretty busy in terms of writing next month. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous; I’m putting myself under a lot of pressure in a short amount of time but that’s what makes it so exciting, for me. I’ve joined the forums, I’ve joined the Facebook group and I’ve followed fellow West of Scotland participants. So what’s left to do now? Well, plan it.

I suppose as well, I should warn my friends/family/boyfriend/cats that I’m going to be a little stressed and running on coffee and bananas. They’re used to me being a little eccentric but it’s just good manners to give them good warning. This blog won’t suffer. I have a lot planned for the coming month and the only thing you wont see are book reviews as I really won’t have the time.

I’m hoping that this will be a good test of my willpower, my strength and maybe that it will improve my writing. If nothing else, I want to come out of this feeling proud that I achieved something.

Are you doing NaNoWriMo? What are your preparation plans?

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

