I’m In Way Too Deep, I’ve Forgotten How To Swim…

So, a week after I said I was starting it, I can tell you now I failed at NaNoWriMo.

This is 100% not due to laziness, I’d admit that. The thing is, once my story got to around 2000 words, I was stumped. I did all the things you’re supposed to do when you have writers block; I went for a walk, I did something else, I read a book that has inspired me in the past and I tried to just write anything and hope that I’d get back into the swing of things. None of these helped. In fact, most of them ripped away what confidence I had left because if a writer can’t write a ‘novel’ after only 2000 words, what hope do they have with anything else? In my mind, it meant I will never write a novel. Days went by and as I struggled, I got more upset and realised I will write a novel one day but this year, it isn’t viable.

I still wanted to write every day, though. I make sure I write something every day even if it’s just a small page of thoughts, at least that way I’m still writing. On very desperate days where I have no inspiration or reason to write, I use The One-Minute Writer which gives you a small prompt and a minute to write something from it. I try to not rely on it and sometimes do a few in bulk so spend 5 minutes writing about 5 different topics.

I decided that instead of doing NaNoWriMo, I am going to write a blog post every day. Be it within my usual themes, journal posts or even just using a writing prompt. I want to prove to myself that I can write and contribute to this every day. It will be nowhere near as hard as writing a novel in a month but I expect the pay-off to feel almost as good. I expect to be proud and be able to post on this blog pretty regularly after this. My problem has always been consistency, I like keeping a blog like this where I also do articles and things that I actually want to do for the rest of my life. It’s entertaining for me and sometimes I’m even proud of myself for building such a blog that is so varied. I want to make sure I start making the most of this.

This means, like many others, I am unofficially joining in with National Blog Posting Month or, NaBloPoMo. I apologise if you don’t want to see me on your reader every day for a month, feel free to ignore my posts if you wish but I’m hoping to write a lot of interesting posts, some informative, some personal, some about music. I’m hoping to gain new readers and a new confidence in my stamina as a blogger. I realise I am 6 days late with joining in on this but as you may or may have not noticed, I have written a blog post every day in November so far anyway.

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

