Sarah Saw//Gullivers Travels

I know he’s hugely popular but I don’t like Jack Black. I remember watching the 1977 version a lot growing up and adoring the story so suffice to say, I was a little sceptical about the 2011 remake with Jack Black playing the lead role.

Once again, Jack Black is playing the part of an oversized man-boy who loves rock music and video games. He’s hyperactive, loud and just as irritating as ever. Sorry, really not a fan.

Gullivers Travels has an all-star cast including Billy Connoly, Catherine Tait, Emily Blunt, Chris O’Dowd and Jason Segel. Chris O’Dowd steals the show, it’s pretty wonderful seeing him play a part different than any of his other roles. He’s one of the biggest rising stars of the past few years and his performance in Gullivers Travels perfectly depicts why.

In saying that, I found the film irritating, poorly executed and to be honest, unnecessary. It was a poor remake with far too many pop culture references. I won’t watch it again but I can concede that Jack Black fans will love it.

One comment

  1. Thank you, I am not the only person who doesn’t like Jack Black and haven’t seen ‘School of Rock’ because of this.

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

