Tattoo Thursday//Dean Walsh

Tattoo Thursday is a new theme that appears on a weekly basis where people will be showcasing and discussing their tattoos. If you are interested in getting involved, e-mail me at sarahlouisekelly11@gmail.com! 


 

Can you explain the meaning of ‘Stand on conviction and you will walk alone’?
That is a lyric by my favourite band As I Lay Dying. It means stand for what you believe in even if others don’t agree with you because what’s right is not always popular but what’s popular is not always right.

Why did you decide to get this tattoo?
I really wanted lyrics or a quote which would remind me of the sort of person I want to be. We all make decisions in life that we believe strongly in but can be mislead by what other people think. Ironically a tattoo is something that most people will tell you you will regret at some point in your life. But I know that these lyrics are an important part of who I am and if I thought for one second that I would regret them I wouldn’t deserve to have these words tattooed on me in the first place

How did family and friends react?
I was the first in my group of friends to get a tattoo so they were completely shocked at how huge it was. They also really liked the message that the lyrics represented. My family were shocked for other reasons, I don’t think they were expecting it to be so big for my first tattoo. But they don’t mind as long as they don’t have to see it all the time

Do you plan to get more?
Absolutely, I hope to be covered in tattoos one day I just haven’t decided what I want on them yet. I do know though that me left arm will be dedicated to literature and the right dedicated to music.

What is the design below the writing?
Below the writing is my dragon. Years ago when I was at a party this girl showed us her tattoo of a dragon on her back and it was absolutely beautiful. I really wanted to have that some day. So I searched through different designs until I came to a sort of tribal dragon which I thought would be really cool and unique. It’s not quite finished yet though I still need to get the red and orange colours done inside but I like the design of it so far

What advice would you give to anyone looking to get a tattoo?

People always say that when you get old your tattoos will look disgusting and you’ll hate them. I say that I’m going to get old and wrinkle anyway so I might as well look good while I’m doing it. Don’t think of your tattoos as some random design stuck I your body but a memory of you at a different point in your life that will stay with you forever. Make sure you are confident that this is what you want for the rest of your life and don’t let other people stand in you way. In other words: Stand On Conviction And You Will Walk Alone.

5 comments

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

