Alice in Chains November 14th// Live Review

aic

Last month, Alice in Chains returned to Glasgow for their The Devil Put the Dinosaurs Here tour.

I am all about stage shows. A great live performance accompanied by an over-the-top stage show is right up my street but sometimes, subtlety is key and subtlety was definitely what Alice in Chains were aiming for. The band were all dressed plainly apart from guitarist Jerry Cantrell who wore a kilt -definitely not a bad thing- and the stage itself only had simple LED screens. There was hardly any crowd interaction, no banter, no self-promotion, just a fantastic, legendary band playing some of their best songs to a crowd that didn’t need any gimmicks. Alice in Chains proved their worth a long, long time ago.

If any die-hard Alice in Chains fans came along to the show with doubts about William DuVall, I imagine they were doubts that were lost within the first ten minutes of the set. Though not as intense as the late Layne Staley, DuVall is a force to be reckoned with on stage challenged only by the passionate crowd who managed to sing over him more than once.

Alice in Chains played songs from their new album as obviously expected. What wasn’t expected was only two of them were played- Hollow and Voices. The rest of the set was made up of obligatory classics such as Them Bones, Would? and Rooster. As much as I wanted to hear more from the new album (because I’d listened to it on repeat for 2 months) this kind of setlist is exactly what I imagine most fans came for- nostalgic, energetic and, at times, just a healthy dose of mellow. They did not one, but two encores which I did admittedly say at the time was arrogant but if anyone has a right to be arrogant… It’s this band.

Seeing Alice in Chains was an honour for me. They are music legends and seeing them was definitely an experience I won’t forget. Did they live up to the hype? Absolutely.

There’s another band off the bucket list!

4 comments

  1. Hi!I’ve been reading your website for some time now
    and finally got the bravery to go ahead and
    give you a shout out from Houston Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent
    job!

    1. Aww haha hi!
      Thank you very much for this comment, it was very kind of you and I’m glad you like my site 🙂
      xx

  2. Howdy would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m planning to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a difficult time choosing between
    BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your
    layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

    1. I use WordPress and this is the Balloons theme! Sorry this response is so late, WordPress marked it as spam!

      Take care
      xx

Leave a Reply- I appreciate all comments!

